Whatsoever Magazine

Anticipation

Posted on: March 18, 2008

This year has begun with a bang for sure. I feel God is teaching me so much already, and even though He may be speaking to me in a zillion areas of my life, I feel like I’m in the baby stages of learning. Do I have anything to share?

One thing that has suddenly come to mind (the prompting of the Holy Spirit, perhaps?) is a verse God pointed out late in January. I had been thinking about the new year a lot, wondering what it might hold for me. I really had no idea! I had thoughts of minor things I want to achieve personally, but nothing grand, nor anything about what God might have in mind. I wondered what God would teach me, what adventures I’d have, and what changes would be made. I also wondered if I would be faithful to do God’s will. I wrote to some friends while pondering all these things:

This year seems different. My heart feels kind of full of I don’t know what. Happy excitement, expectations, as well as a bit of apprehension maybe? It’s odd. But it’s exciting. I was trying to think of a word to describe how I feel about this year, and one came to mind that I really think fits what I’m feeling—and that is ripe. It’s almost like there are a lot of things building up and now they’re ripe for the picking. And I guess that’s where the apprehension comes in. If something is ripe, then it needs to be harvested. I feel like God is opening up lots of doors of opportunities and lessons (or laying out a field of ripe fruits) and I have to harvest them. I’m kind of nervous that I won’t take the opportunities God has given me. But I’m excited, too. I know that He’ll help me and give me the ability to do His will.

And God gave me these verses just at the right time: Now may the God of peace who brought again from the dead our Lord Jesus, the great shepherd of the sheep, by the blood of the eternal covenant, equip you with everything good that you may do His will, working in us that which is pleasing in His sight, through Jesus Christ, to whom be glory forever and ever. Amen. (Hebrews 13:20-21)

I believe God pointed out these verses early in the year because He knew I’d need them throughout the entire year. They are to me the promise of a great many things:

  • God is the God of peace. Although a whirlwind of turmoil may billow around us, He gives peace.
  • He conquers and will conquer again and again. He raised Jesus from the dead, and will also show His might in our lives. (see also 2 Corinthians 1:10)
  • Jesus is the great shepherd of the sheep. He is our guide and, as He promised in a parable, He will come and find us if we wander.
  • He is ready to equip us with everything good that we may do His will. He’s not going to ask us to perform His will and then leave us to our own devices. He will provide.
  • He will work in us that which is pleasing in His sight. I may not know God’s plans for my life, but I do know that He isn’t leaving me on the side of the road to work out my own way home. He’s working in us His will. And it will please Him.
  • Not only will He work in us that which will please Him, but He’ll do it through Jesus. Jesus will be with us during it all!
  • And last, but definitely not least, God ought to be glorified! And He’ll prove it, too. Just you wait and see.

God bless you!

Lauren Carey

[originally published in Volume 10 #1 of Whatsoever Magazine]

Leave a Reply

